God Would Not Lie to David – Psalms 89:35

In Psalms eighty nine Ethan the Psalmist shared how Jehovah God said concerning David, “My covenant will I not break, nor alter the thing that is gone out of my lips”, and in chapter eighty nine and verse thirty-five of Psalms Ethan shared how Jehovah God said, “I will not lie unto David” where we read,

Once have I sworn by my holiness that I will not lie unto David.

The verse begins, Once have I sworn by my holiness … Ethan began with the words, “Once have I sworn” or “only one time have I, Jehovah God, adjured, taken an oath, charged and completed” “by my holiness” which means “through the means of my, Jehovah God’s, sacredness and separateness”. Ethan shared how Jehovah God said He took an oath only one time through the means of His sacredness for the following.

The verse continues,… that I will not lie unto David. Ethan added the words, “that I will not lie” or “that I, Jehovah God, shall in no way or manner deceive, speak vainly or be deceptive” “unto David” which means “to David whose name means blessed and was the second king of Israel”. Ethan shared how Jehovah God “swore” He would in no way be deceptive to David.

When we think through the words in this verse, we see how Ethan shared the way Jehovah God declared He would keep His word to David by the means of His own sacredness. God does not “lie”, and when He makes a promise, it will be fulfilled. (See Numbers 23:19) God promised eternal life and forgiveness of sins to every person who surrenders themselves to His Son Jesus who died on the cross for the errors and wrongs of all mankind. When we humble ourselves before God, repent of our sins, believe in His Son Jesus and ask Him for forgiveness, He will keep His promise with us even as He has with David. Let us give praise, honor and glory to Jehovah God and His Son Jesus for not only making promises to us, but also who shall keep them for all eternity.

Next time Ethan the Psalmist shares how Jehovah God says, “His seed shall endure for ever”, so read ahead, and we shall join together then.

Until tomorrow…there is more…


See more devotionals on the website “thewordfortodaywithray.com” or look for the daily devotional book “Equipped for Battle – From Generation to Generation”, the marriage book “So, You Want to Be Married”, “One Year in the Sermon on the Mount” and the new poetry book “Random Mushrooms Volumes I and II” and the new novel “Elizabeth County” in all major bookstore sites, http://www.amazon.com ; http://www.barnesandnobles.com ; download to e-books, and find it locally at www.mrzlc.com/bookstore. All references are from “Strongs Concordance”.

About whatshizname

Owner of two businesses in Tallahassee. Love to write, and enjoy reading.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment