The Porcupine

Once upon a porcupine

my path forbear to lead

Twas innocent before such grace

the petting kind I’d need

A friendship close relation’s bind

presumed and yet unvet

for thus clandestine energy

was not revealed as yet

And reaching forth caressing love

to comfort still my soul

when all at once his quills shot forth

and filled my face in whole

Now pain within without my head

hast left me still undone

for not expecting such a blow

now caused my heart to run

But back to state of normalcy

the porcupine resumed

inviting me to touch again

ignore my painful gloom

But there sat I with quills in face

reminders of my risk

not I again to play the fool

repeat the painful frisk

And n’er again come close to thee

and conversate my heart

avoiding all thy hidden flits

the gnawer’s spiny darts

And thus shall I remain as sane

without thy quills in tow

for once been shot I now avoid

thy ruthless secret blows

About whatshizname

Owner of two businesses in Tallahassee. Love to write, and enjoy reading.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment