Awake Early – Psalms 108:2

In Psalms one hundred eight David said, “O God, my heart is fixed; I will sing and give praise, even with my glory”, and in chapter one hundred eight and verse two of Psalms David said, “I myself will awake early” where we read,

Awake, psaltery and harp: I myself will awake early.

The verse begins, Awake, psaltery and harp: David began with the word, “awake” or “rouse, stir up and incite”, “psaltery and harp” which means “skin-bag, jar or pitcher and lyre or stringed instrument”. David spoke to his skin-bag and stringed musical instruments to be roused and stirred up.

The verse goes on to say, “I myself will awake early.” David continued with the words, “I myself” or “I, David, my own self” “will awake early” which means “shall stir, rouse and act in an aroused manner at dawn, daybreak and in early light”. David purposed to rouse himself up very early in the morning.

When we meditate upon the words in this verse, we see how David desired to stir up his musical instruments and himself very early in the morning to give praise and honor to Jehovah God. David was purposed to be firmly established in his relationship with God whose desire is to have a personal, intimate relationship with every person through His Son Jesus. God sent Jesus into the world to die on the cross for the sins of all mankind, and when we yield our lives to Him as our “Savior and Lord”, He will forgive our sins, grant us everlasting life and inspire us to “awake early”, employ our voices and use musical instruments to give honor, praise and glory to Him.

Next time David says, “I will praise you, O LORD, among the people”, so read ahead, and we shall join together then.

Until tomorrow…there is more…


See more devotionals on the website “thewordfortodaywithray.com” or look for the daily devotional book “Equipped for Battle – From Generation to Generation”, the marriage book “So, You Want to Be Married”, “One Year in the Sermon on the Mount” and the new poetry book “Random Mushrooms Volumes I and II” and the new novel “Elizabeth County” in all major bookstore sites, http://www.amazon.com ; http://www.barnesandnobles.com ; download to e-books, and find it locally at www.mrzlc.com/bookstore. All references are from “Strongs Concordance”.

About whatshizname

Owner of two businesses in Tallahassee. Love to write, and enjoy reading.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment