O God, My Heart is Fixed – Psalms 108:1

Psalms one hundred eight begins with the heading, “[[A Song or Psalm of David.]]” which breaks down “a song” or “a lyrical or religious tune of music” “or Psalm” which means “or melody or poem set to notes” “of David” or “belonging to David whose name means beloved and was the second king of Israel”, and in chapter one hundred eight and verse one of Psalms David said, “O God, my heart is fixed;” where we read,

O God, my heart is fixed; I will sing and give praise, even with my glory.

The verse begins, O God, my heart is fixed; David began with the words, “O God” or “O Divine judge, ruler and Supreme God”, “my heart is fixed” which means “my, David’s, soul, mind, will, desires, living being and seat of emotions and passion exists as firm, stable, set and firmly established”. David referred to the Divine judge Jehovah God as he stated that his soul, mind and emotions were stable and firmly established.

The verse continues, “I will sing and give praise, even with my glory.” David added the words, “I will sing” or “I, David, will make music with the voice” “and give praise” which means “and bestow, grant and play a musical instrument”, “even with my glory” or “also, indeed and furthermore by the use of my, David’s, honor, abundance, riches and splendor”. David said he would use his voice and musical instruments to bestow his honor, splendor and abundance toward Jehovah God.

When we consider the words in this verse, we see how David addressed the Divine judge Jehovah God and stated that his soul and mind were firmly established. This caused him to make music with his voice and musical instruments to bestow upon Jehovah God his honor, abundance and splendor. God loves this. When we align our lives with His Son Jesus as our personal “Savior and Lord”, we fix ourselves in the best state we can be. God sent Jesus into the world to be crucified on the cross for the sins of all mankind, and when we believe and trust in Him, He will forgive our sins, grant us everlasting life and put a song of honor and praise within our hearts and minds that shall be sung and played for all eternity.

Next time David says, “I myself will awake early.”, so read ahead, and we shall join together then.

Until tomorrow…there is more…


See more devotionals on the website “thewordfortodaywithray.com” or look for the daily devotional book “Equipped for Battle – From Generation to Generation”, the marriage book “So, You Want to Be Married”, “One Year in the Sermon on the Mount” and the new poetry book “Random Mushrooms Volumes I and II” and the new novel “Elizabeth County” in all major bookstore sites, http://www.amazon.com ; http://www.barnesandnobles.com ; download to e-books, and find it locally at www.mrzlc.com/bookstore. All references are from “Strongs Concordance”.

About whatshizname

Owner of two businesses in Tallahassee. Love to write, and enjoy reading.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment