Into the Strong City – Psalms 108:10

In Psalms one hundred eight David said, “God has spoken in his holiness; I will rejoice, I will divide Shechem, and mete out the valley of Succoth. Gilead is mine; Manasseh is mine; Ephraim also is the strength of mine head; Judah is my lawgiver. Moab is my washpot; over Edom will I cast out my shoe; over Philistia will I triumph”, and in chapter one hundred eight and verse ten of Psalms David asked, “who will bring me into the strong city?” where we read,

Who will bring me into the strong city? who will lead me into Edom?

The verse begins, Who will bring me into the strong city? David began with the words, “who will bring me” or “what person shall carry, conduct and lead me, David” “into the strong city” which means “into the fortified town, encampment and guarded and waking place”? David wondered what person would lead him into the fortified town.

The verse goes on to say “who will lead me into Edom?” David continued with the words, “who will lead me” or “what person guide, govern and bring me, David” “into Edom” which means “into Edom whose name means red and was the descendants of Esau within the land south and southeast of Palestine”? David asked what person would be able to guide him into the land of “Edom” which was south and southeast of Palestine and belonged to the descendants of Esau.

When we consider the words in this verse, we see how David rhetorically questioned what person would be able to lead and guide him into the fortified town and into the land possessed by the descendants of Esau. He knew no man would be able to help him, but God was more powerful than any person. God loves people, and He loved David. He chose the people of Israel because they would be the nation through whom His Son Jesus would come to the world to die for the sins of all mankind. (Genesis 18:18, 22:18 and Galatians 3:8) When we believe and trust in Him as our “Savior and Lord”, He will forgive our sins, grant us everlasting life and lead us by His Holy Spirit in this life and the eternal life to come. (See John 16:13)

Next time David asks, “will not you, O God, who has cast us off?”, so read ahead, and we shall join together then.

Until tomorrow…there is more…


See more devotionals on the website “thewordfortodaywithray.com” or look for the daily devotional book “Equipped for Battle – From Generation to Generation”, the marriage book “So, You Want to Be Married”, “One Year in the Sermon on the Mount” and the new poetry book “Random Mushrooms Volumes I and II” and the new novel “Elizabeth County” in all major bookstore sites, http://www.amazon.com ; http://www.barnesandnobles.com ; download to e-books, and find it locally at www.mrzlc.com/bookstore. All references are from “Strongs Concordance”.

About whatshizname

Owner of two businesses in Tallahassee. Love to write, and enjoy reading.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment