A Froward Heart – Psalms 101:4

In Psalms one hundred and one David said, “I will set no wicked thing before my eyes: I hate the work of them that turn aside; it shall not cleave to me”, and in chapter one hundred one and verse four of Psalms David said, “a froward heart shall depart from me” where we read,

A froward heart shall depart from me: I will not know a wicked person.

The verse begins, A froward heart shall depart from me: David began with the words, “a froward heart” or “a twisted, distorted, crooked, perverse and perverted inner man, soul, mind, will, desire, living being and seat of emotions and passions” “shall depart from me” which means “will separate, be removed, turned aside and away from me, David”. David said people with twisted, distorted, crooked and perverse souls would be separated and removed from him.

The verse goes on to say,I will not know a wicked person. David continued with the words, “I will not know” or “I, David, shall in no way or manner perceive, see, find out, recognize and discern” “a wicked person” which means “a human being whether male or female who is bad, evil, unpleasant, malignant and disagreeable”. David said he would in no way keep the company of people who are evil and disagreeable.

When we consider the words in this verse, we see how David determined to keep himself from the company of people who are crooked and perverse. In fact, he would not even recognize anyone who committed evil and disagreeable behavior. Paul the apostle said, “Wherefore come out from among them, and be ye separate, saith the Lord, and touch not the unclean thing; and I will receive you” (See 2 Corinthians 6:17), and when we come to know Jesus Christ as our personal “Savior and Lord”, He will forgive our sins, grant us everlasting life and keep us from the company of those who are “evil” and “wicked”.

Next time David shares about, “whosoever privately slanders his neighbor”, so read ahead, and we shall join together then.

Until tomorrow…there is more…


See more devotionals on the website “thewordfortodaywithray.com” or look for the daily devotional book “Equipped for Battle – From Generation to Generation”, the marriage book “So, You Want to Be Married”, “One Year in the Sermon on the Mount” and the new poetry book “Random Mushrooms Volumes I and II” and the new novel “Elizabeth County” in all major bookstore sites, http://www.amazon.com ; http://www.barnesandnobles.com ; download to e-books, and find it locally at www.mrzlc.com/bookstore. All references are from “Strongs Concordance”.

About whatshizname

Owner of two businesses in Tallahassee. Love to write, and enjoy reading.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment